Spark Plug: Calder Shilling

Spark Plug: An interview series with playwright Angela Santillo and the artists of Spark.

 

Time:
Wednesday evening, after rehearsing Scene Three.

Setting:
Rehearsal Room. Mr. Shilling is outfitted in the gear of his alma mater. Ms. Santillo is surprisingly wearing a dress.

 

Angela Santillo
So why do you do theater?

Calder Shilling
Uh…

AS
Let’s start big.

CS
Start big. Yeah. I guess the real reason why I do theater is cause it allows me to let go and explore emotional extremes that I don’t allow myself to in my day to day life. That’s a big part of it.

AS
Where do you see your career in five years?

CS
Realistically or where do I wish it would be five years from now?

AS
Dream big.

CS
God, five years…I want to be doing more Shakespeare. I always want to be doing more Shakespeare. So, in five years I would love to be doing Shakespeare somewhere like the Public. I would love to be part of their productions, maybe even Classic Stage. Something that allows me to build more on my classic repertoire.

AS
So you play Jones, he’s a bit of an insensitive kind of guy. He asks Dalia (another character in the show) to prove that she loves him. So how can you prove that you love?

CS
How do I prove that I love?

AS
Or in general, people. Whichever you like.

CS
Well, I can’t speak for other people, I don’t know if I can do that. But for me…I’m not a big talker. I express my emotions much more physically so I guess the way I prove that I love somebody is physically how I am around them. It manifests itself in the way I make contact with that person. And it also manifests itself-when I really love somebody, I feel really comfortable not speaking around that person. It’s less prove and more of a sign for me. Like, this could be something real if I don’t feel the need to speak.

AS
Give me one thing you would love to do onstage. Anything.

CS
I would love to disappear through a trap door in a cloud of smoke.

AS
Okay. Now finish the sentence. Love is…

CS
….
I want to say heavenly. Godly.

 

Comments Off on Spark Plug: Calder Shilling

Filed under Spark Plug

Comments are closed.