Spark Plug: Chelsea Militano

Spark Plug: An interview series with playwright Angela Santillo and the artists of Spark.

 

Time:
Sunday afternoon, on the brink of doing a run thru.

Setting:
Rehearsal room, seated by the windows and heaters. Ms. Militano is laughing. As is Ms. Santillo.

 

Angela Santillo
So. Are you ready?

Chelsea Militano
Yes.

AS
Why are you an actress?

CM
Because there’s nothing else I can do. Ha! No, cause I dig relationships and to be able to learn about myself and people in the world, I like that dynamic of it. That always growing, always learning, always asking questions and the high you get performing. Even the high you get sitting in your room, looking at a script and figuring it out.

AS
So you are new to New York.

CM
Yes.

AS
What’s the most exciting part of being in actress in New York City?

CM
Discovering that the world is actually really small. The theater world is pretty tiny. Like it’s a big world and New York is a big scary place but it’s really not. And navigating that and taking the city in and then deciding who I want to be in the city and how am I going to make that happen.

AS
Describe the perfect role.

CM
The perfect role…a woman who is strong but also is very vulnerable and real. Who loves, is misunderstood, and has barriers and blockage and she hides that through kicking your ass but really she is super.

AS
So basically you want to be a complicated woman?

CM
Um, yyeeahhh.

AS
Ha! So you play Mystery, among other roles. It’s a pretty vocally demanding role with all those love sounds and what not. So what are you going to do to prepare your voice?

CM
Well, I’m going to make I do my special “O” exercise lots. I’ve been doing that in the sauna. Ha! And trying to free it. That’s the hardest part. I’m not scared about it being exhausted but of letting myself vocally go to where I know it can go.

AS
Now, finish this line. Be mine or else I will…

CM
Kick your ass.

 

Comments Off on Spark Plug: Chelsea Militano

Filed under Spark Plug

Comments are closed.