Spark Plug: Michael Kreitzinger

Spark Plug: An interview series with playwright Angela Santillo and the artists of Spark.


Time: 
Around 8pm.

Setting:
Rehearsal room in Bushwick before table work on Scene Six.   Mr. Kreitzinger is ready.  Ms. Santillo’s audio recorder is having problems.


Angela Santilo
So you are making your New York debut with Spark.

Michael Kreitzinger
Yes I am.

AS
How you feeling about that?

MK
I’m feeling very good.  I’ve been here for about eight months and I was kind of apprehensive about doing anything in general when I first got here but now I feel settled into the city.   I’m excited, especially to do it with Elizabeth (the director).

AS
So let’s talk about that.

MK
Yes.  Because the first play I ever did was one of Elizabeth’s plays.

AS
Exactly.  So this is a reunion.  How has that been?

MK
It’s been kind of funny.  Cause when I started theater in high school, I started relatively late in comparison to everyone else.  So the first acting I did was this little student written film that Elizabeth did and in retrospect it’s kind of the same scenario.  Being in New York, being a little fish in this bowl and her directing is my introduction into this theater world.  It’s comforting having somebody who knows where I come from and knows what I do, even though it’s been a very very long time since she has seen me perform.

AS
So give me your top five bucket roles.

MK
Oh man…well I’ve already done one of them, Katurian Katurian in The Pillowman.  I always gravitate to big, over the top, evil villains.  I would say Javier in Les Mis, Sweeny Todd…oh man two more.   Every other actor in this world is like, “I know exactly what I want to do” but I’m like whatever comes my way, I’ll take it.  Is that okay?

AS
Yeah, that’s a perfect answer and you are giving me perfect segues man.  Let’s talk about The Bearer.  You play him and he is a pretty ominous character.  What do you keep in mind when you play a villain?

MK
I think it’s the opposite of what people think you should come on and be.  You know, that you have to be ominous or dark.  But I think you just come on and do the opposite.  How many people do you meet in this world who walk up to you and are like, “Oh, I’m an evil person.”  It’s usually the people that are like sociopaths, nice and charming.  I think it’s reserved energy also when you come on.  For example, when I come on as The Bearer it’s a lot of containment.

AS
Okay, so last thing.  You have to finish this phrase.  The best worst love song is…

MK
Oh without a doubt, it’s eight minutes long, is Celine Dion’s It’s All Coming Back To Me Now. 

AS
Yes!

MK
It’s in combination with the video.  You know it’s wind blowing, windows breaking, her hair flying, running down hallways.

AS
Yes!

MK
And it’s eight minutes long so it never stops.  It just keeps going.

(Playwright’s note:  It’s All Coming Back To Me Now is actually six minutes long.)

Comments Off on Spark Plug: Michael Kreitzinger

Filed under Spark Plug

Comments are closed.